s Schicksalslied – Collegium Vocale Gent

Collegium Vocale Gent


10/11/2019 — 16:00
Konzerthaus | Berlin | DE
Johannes Brahms [1833–1897]

Vier Gesänge op. 17
Ungarischer Tänzer nr.4-10-14 (orch. Fischer)
Nänie op.82
Abendständchen op.42/1
Variationen auf ein Thema von Haydn op.56/a
Schicksahlslied op.54

Collegium Vocale Gent
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Iván Fischer conductor



Ivàn Fischer single-handedly orchestrated Johannes Brahms’ famous Hungarian Dances. In this program, he features them alongside large-scale works for choir and orchestra. Brahms’ love for choral music already manifested itself in his Hamburg years. Due to his historical awareness of a great diversity of scripture, Brahms later sowed stylistic seeds in his Deutsches Requiem for his subsequent choral-orchestral works. Both the deeply human Schicksalslied (1871), based on a poem by Hölderlin, and Nänie, a lament composed ten years later in memory of his good friend and painter Anselm Feuerbach, are witnesses to a relentless search for a rich musical language that surprisingly still sounds modern to our ears today.