s O Primavera – Collegium Vocale Gent

Collegium Vocale Gent


30/07/2019 — 20:00
Sant'Anna in Camprena | Pienza | IT
Heinrich Schütz [1585–1672]

Il primo libro di Madrigali, Venezia 1611

Soloists of Collegium Vocale Gent
Philippe Herreweghe musical direction


O Primavera

To complete his studies at St. Mark’s Basilica in Venice with Giovanni Gabrieli, Heinrich Schütz composed his first and only collection of Italian madrigals in 1611. Like his contemporary Claudio Monteverdi, he was able to transform the poetry of poets such as G.B.Marino or G.B.Guarini into expressive and particularly refined music with brio. Together with five soloists and a lutenist, Philippe Herreweghe dissects these rarely performed gems and brings them back to life before your eyes!