s An die Freude – Collegium Vocale Gent

Collegium Vocale Gent


18/05/2017 — 18:00
Cultuurcentrum | Hasselt | BE

Hector BERLIOZ (1803–1869)
Tristia op.18
Luc BREWAEYS (1959–2015)
‘On a day’ uit Sonnets to Sundry notes of Music / Threnos
Ludwig van BEETHOVEN (1770–1827)
Symphony No.9 op.125

Christina Landshamer _soprano_
Ann Hallenberg _alto_
Werner Güra _tenor_
Kresimir Strazanac _bass_
*Collegium Vocale Gent*
Royal Flemish Philharmonic
Philippe Herreweghe


An die Freude

No other work has influenced the course of music history as definitively as the Ninth Symphony by Ludwig van Beethoven. Its astonished reception after its first performance on 7 May 1824 left generations of composers paralyzed. Never before had an individual artist’s urge for artistic freedom pushed the boundaries of a genre to such extremes. The addition of vocal soloists and a choir for the final movement was nothing short of revolutionary! Its huge dynamic variety and powerful emotions also made this work the breathtaking upbeat to the new Romantic age.